Know Your Lake
Sturgeon Lake
City of Kawartha Lakes
Sturgeon Lake is a Kawartha lake on the Trent-Severn Waterway, with Bobcaygeon at its east end and Fenelon Falls to the north. It is fairly shallow, with a maximum depth of 10.6 m in MNR data. The whole lake is in the City of Kawartha Lakes.
Lake facts
Surface area
45.0 km²
Public record · Ontario MNR Aquatic Resource Area (ARA) Water Poly Segment, Land Information Ontario open data (data used by Fish ON-Line) · checked November 5 2026Deepest point
10.6 m
Public record · Ontario MNR Aquatic Resource Area (ARA) Water Poly Segment, Land Information Ontario open data (data used by Fish ON-Line) · checked November 5 2026Boating rules
No lake-specific restriction found in the schedules for the open lake (the Sturgeon Lake entries in Schedules 1 and 5 are in Alberta). Schedule 5: 10 km/h on the Fenelon River from Sturgeon Lake to Cameron Lake. Elsewhere on the lake the general rule applies: 10 km/h within 30 m of shore (Vessel Operation Restriction Regulations, s. 2(7)).
Public record · Transport Canada, Schedules of the Vessel Operation Restriction Regulations (TP 15587), 2nd edition April 2026 · checked November 5 2026Fish in the lake
Walleye, Sauger, Muskellunge, Smallmouth Bass, Largemouth Bass, Cisco, Yellow Perch, Black Crappie, Bluegill, Pumpkinseed, Rock Bass, Burbot, Channel Catfish, Brown Bullhead, Lake Sturgeon, Common Carp. These game and pan fish are recorded in MNR lake data; not all are common today.
Public record · Ontario MNR Aquatic Resource Area (ARA) Water Poly Segment, Land Information Ontario open data (data used by Fish ON-Line) · checked November 5 2026Fishing zone
Zone 17
Public record · Fisheries Management Zone 17, Ontario Fishing Regulations Summary, ontario.ca · checked November 5 2026Water clarity
Lake Partner Program volunteer data: 2024 average water clarity (Secchi depth) 3.8 m from 14 readings; 2025 average total phosphorus 28.4 micrograms per litre from 4 samples.
Public record · Ontario Lake Partner Program open data, Secchi depth and total phosphorus files (2025 release), data.ontario.ca/dataset/ontario-lake-partner · checked November 5 2026Boat launches
Provincial data lists 10 boat launch or access points on or beside the lake (0 marked municipal, provincial or federal; others private or not stated). Road-end launches listed include Hickory Beach Road, Crane Bay Road, Beach View Drive and Pavillion Road (ownership not stated). Check ownership, fees and parking locally.
Public record · Ontario MNR Fishing Access Point layer, Land Information Ontario open data (points within 400 m of the lake outline) · checked November 5 2026
Lake ratings
Rated 1 to 5 by cottage owners on this lake (one rating per owner) and by renters after a Dock & Loon stay (one per stay). An average shows once 3 people have rated. Every rating counts, low ones included. Ratings and tags are opinions, not checks of water quality, algae or ice safety.
| Rating | Cottage owners | Renters |
|---|---|---|
| Swimming | No ratings yet | No ratings yet |
| Quiet and calm | No ratings yet | No ratings yet |
| Fishing | No ratings yet | No ratings yet |
| Paddling | No ratings yet | No ratings yet |
| Boating and water sports | No ratings yet | No ratings yet |
| Scenery and sunsets | No ratings yet | No ratings yet |
General information only. Lake rules and conditions change: check the official source before you swim, boat or fish.